Complete Newbie needs a bit of help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Shermanator

AC Members
Nov 10, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
OK on the first day I filled the tank up with ordinary tap water and got the undergravel flitration with powerhead system going. On the 2nd day I splurged out on a Eheim Cannister filter and added this to my setup. In the same process I also declorinted and added water conditioners to the water- (Bio-Safe, Bio-Min and Bio- Black), I also added Nutrafin Cylcle.

1) Now if I am starting a fishless cycle how much ammonia do I add to a 250 litre tank?
2) If I go the fish cycle route- By the third day can I add the fish to start the cycling process?
3) What fish should I go for to start the cycling process? Given that fish should be able to take the ammonia/Nitrite spike
4) Oops one other question- How much Fish should I start the cycling off with?

Your help would be much appreciated

Last edited:

Shermanator

AC Members
Nov 10, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
Thanks I had a good read- I just need some advise on my 2nd third and fourth question just to make up my mind which way to go.

regards :)

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
if you are doing a fishey cycle, you cna add fish day one. However, this adds extreme stress to the fish and permanent damage to their gillsno matter how well you maintain the water.

Danios are probably the hardiest, but that doesn't mean they will not suffer permanent damage.

None--do a fishless cycle.

Shermanator

AC Members
Nov 10, 2006
Melbourne, Australia