Consistently high nitrate

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Kannan Fodder

AC Members
Jun 2, 2014
Las Vegas/San Diego
Real Name
Michelle
I have an API Freshwater Master Test Kit, which I've become very familiar with due to frequent use. My tank is a 29g (20l footprint), which I chose for a taller water column because it was intended for a school of gambusia. Tank was set up in mid October, so I'm positive it's cycled at this point. I also observe it daily, feed my fish twice a day, and maintain it fairly regularly. (I work as a "sales associate", so my schedule is highly erratic, and the GM is very reliable about waiting until the last second to post the new schedule. This makes it extremely difficult to plan anything in advance, or even follow a set routine.)

As stated, the tank was intended for my school of gambusia, so they were added when I set the tank up. Also in the tank are a pair of BNs (definitely a male and female), a bunch of ghost shrimp, and 3 electric blue rams. (And snails - ramshorn and pond snails.) I decorated the tank with 3 "medium" pieces of mopani (soaked for over a year), some small lava rocks, live plants, and a resin/plastic skull decoration from Petco. The plants are wisteria, Christmas moss - 1 floating ball and 2 that I've dismantled and attached to the mopani and a rock, 5 small marimo moss balls and 1 huge marimo "rock", anubias (attached to the mopani), 1 small java fern, 1 small El Niño fern, and 5 plants that I can't remember if they are ozolets or crypts. The plants are all doing very well, and have really grown. I've had to thin out the wisteria a few times. The fish are also doing very well, are very active, and eat readily.