goldfish with algae eater?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

waltb2000

AC Members
Mar 20, 2003
Brooklyn, NY
Visit site
I'm brand new to all of this but it hasn't taken me long to learn to be suspicious of pet store advice. We have a 12 gallon Eclipse with a Biowheel filter, heater, and airstone. The pet shop sold us two, two inch (fork length) goldfish and an algae eater (2 & 1/2 inch fork length). Are the g/f and algae eater compatible? From what I've been reading it seems as if g/f don't mix well with other fishes, yet I've learned that the two fishes' pH requirements are similar and if I keep the temp at about 72 degrees their temp requirements will be met as well. Should I keep them together or get another tank to separate them (we wouldn't mind keeping both a g/f tank and a tropical tank)? Also, the shop told us that I can feed them all with g/f flakes, and that the algae eater will eat the food that sinks to the bottom. Shouldn't I feed the algae eater with either sinking food or algae tablets as well? Lastly, could we add more g/f to the tank, or preferably a different species? If so, how many more fish can we safely add? I've read that g/f grow to the size of the tank, so would it be problematic to add two or three more?
Thanks!

TJcanada

AC Members
I've read that g/f grow to the size of the tank
-Not true at all...... what will happen as they grow is that they will foul the water in the 12gal much quicker and if left too long in that small of space thier growth may begin to stunt - while thier skeleton continues to grow the tissues don't - leading to some form of disfigurement. What variety of goldfish are they? Fancy - Common? Adding anymore g/f fish to this tank wouldn't be a good idea, soon you'll need to upgrade the tank you have those 2 in. Any other fish are out as well....