Hello and Help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

hopemckay

Registered Member
Mar 8, 2014
Hello,
Although I have been reading posts and advice on this site for a while now, I just joined as a member. I have been keeping South American Cichlids for about 3 years, have learned by trial and error, lfs advice, and internet research. My current problem is Flowerhorn aggression. I have had a Flowerhorn, Midas, Jack Dempsey, and Firemouth getting along just fine in a 120 gallon tank for over a year. My Midas is now in a hospital tank, and I don't expect her to survive. Since I removed the Midas, the Flowerhorn seems to want to kill the other 2, especially my beautiful Jack Dempsey (my favorite). I'm not sure what happened. They used to swim to the top to greet me and beg for food together. I have asked lfs to take the Flowerhorn; but they don't have room (it's huge) Does anyone know if this "mood" will pass, It has been about 2 weeks. The Jack Dempsey and Firemouth have split fins and scrapes and don't come out except a mad dash for some food. Any advice is appreciated.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Many large cichlids have a personality that will change as they grow and mature. Especially so with Flowerhorns, IMO. If you can't find a home for it, you may be faced with tough choices, such as which fish you prefer more....

ktrom13

AC Members
Feb 4, 2013
boston
Real Name
Kyle
I agree. Flowerhorn are best left in a tank to themsepves due to agression. As said before you may soon be stuck wih tough choices.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Byron Amazonas

AC Members
Jul 22, 2013
Pitt Meadows (within Greater Vancouver, BC) Canada
Real Name
Byron