Hello. New to FW aquaria

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

alfbennett

AC Members
Mar 31, 2009
Washington
Hi,

Though I have sucsesfully kept a 10 gallon nano reef, I am new to FW. The tank I have is a 46 Gllon acrylic bowfront. When it came to me, it had a very opaque green algea bloom, and algea all over the glass. The temprature was around 72 degrees, way to many decorations, worn out ancient carbon filters, and no idea about what fish were in there.

Instead of just pulling all the fish and all the water, I did a 75% change and lelft the nasty filters in for a week, then did a 50% change (and gravel vac), removed one nasty sponge and replaced the carbon. Vioala, I can see the fish now (water is as clear as can be now, and chemestry is back in acceptable ranges). I know about the nitrogen cycle, having raised corals, but I also know that freshwater is a different game.

I have learned that there is no such thing as a clean-up crew in freshwater (no nasarius snails to clean the substrate :-( ) so no molusks for me. Below are the details of my setup, and my questions and concerns

Tank Setup.
46 Gallon Bowfront Acrylic
2x 20-40 whisper filters.
1 undergravel filter running on an airpump.
Broken heater (I am currently heating the tank with top-off water).

Inhabetents (hold on to your shorts)
1 (albino?) catfish (seems to breath air by darting to the top then bottom)
2 Clown Loaches.
1 large fish looks like a silver dollar tetra but has a dark spot behind gill plates
3 neon tetras (very small right now)
3 might be angelfish, but I still need to look these guys up.
2 common plecostimus' (both small right now, but need to get out before they get to big)

My Suspicions.
1.) The tank is over-crowded.
2.) I may want to replace the undergravel filter and gravel for a DSB (does that work in FW tanks?)