Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
    Dismiss Notice

How long do i wait before putting my fish in a new aquarium?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Newbie Forum' started by vjeffv, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. vjeffv

    vjeffv Registered Member

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last Seen:
    Feb 4, 2006
    My tank recently started leaking, it was old so i got a new one and set it up. My question is do i have to wait days to put them in the tank, even if i am using different chemicals, or do the chemicals eliminate the waiting process? I have a 55 gallon tank. If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Roan Art

    Roan Art AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Last Seen:
    Nov 10, 2008
    What chemicals are you referring to?

    If the old tank is still running with everything in it, just transfer everything to the new tank. Water included. Make sure nothing dries out in the process and you should be good to go.

    Roan
     
  3. alfonso_reyes29

    alfonso_reyes29 AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last Seen:
    Feb 28, 2006
    I GOT MY TANK ON JULY 2005 AND GUY THAT I BOUGHT IT FROM SAID TO WAIT AT LEAST 24 HOURS BEFORE U PUT FISH AND I DID AND MY FISH R DOING FINE GOOD LUCK WITH YOURS
     
  4. IceH2O

    IceH2O Bazinga

    Real Name:
    Ice
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Rock Hill,South Carolina
    Last Seen:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Real Name:
    Ice
    Please disregard what Reyes said.edit: unless he is thinking you are transferring from the old still running tank to the new

    Don't put fish in the tank 24 hrs after adding the water.

    Unless you have a filter media that was still running in the old tank, then you can add the fish right away. If the media has dried out or been sitting without fish for a few days you'll need to cycle it all over again.

    You don't want to do a fishy cycle if you can help it.

    I was told the same thing, add water wait 24 hrs, and lost a lot of fish because of it.

    If its brand new everything then follow the directions in this link.


    http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64301

    its a very well written explanation of what to do and expect.
     
    #4 IceH2O, Jan 17, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2006
  5. bobandfiona

    bobandfiona AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Last Seen:
    Feb 20, 2007
    I know its hard to wait and you get happy thinking of putting fish in there...but trust us...you will only harm your fish if not possible kill them. It would not be the best for them at all.

    If you can get some old material, definitely do. Be sure the tank you get it from is disease free and the material has remained in the water without drying out. Read the link provided above...it is VERY helpful.

    We are here to help...let us know how your water is doing and what kind of fish you are planning!
     
  6. Roan Art

    Roan Art AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Last Seen:
    Nov 10, 2008
    I'd disregard what Reyes even if he IS thinking that. It's wrong :)

    I read the original poster's message a few times. At first I thought he was asking about cycling the new tank from scratch, but:

    ". . . it was old so i got a new one and set it up. My question is do i have to wait days to put them in the tank . . ."

    He's asking if he has to wait a few days to put his fish in. Where are his fish and stuff from the old tank? They have to be *somewhere*, so I think they are still in the old tank.

    Guess we'll find out when he checks this thread ;)

    Roan
     

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store