Is it worth buying a pair of L046 for 400 USD?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

professorjimjam

AC Members
Feb 4, 2022
Hello, this is my first post in this forum.

a local breeder is selling grown size pair of L046 one male and one female for 400 USD. I was. thinking of buying it and then breed them.

is it a good idea? is it really worth buying this expensive 400 USD for the pair? I have no idea if they are old or if they would be able to make babies.

Can you please advise?

jake72

AC Members
Jan 28, 2019
Depends why you are buying them. Generally speaking I wouldn't... Just be aware the L046 are harder to breed than for example BN. Lots of people breed them but it takes more than mixing water with fish.

Reactions: professorjimjam
Apr 2, 2002
New York
I have been breeding and selling zebras since 2006. That price is too cheap for an adult pair of zebras inn their prime. They sell for 1.25+ at 1.5 inches TL. unsexed.

As for age, I am aware of an accomplished breeder which had his oldest male zebra spawn stage 22. I have some I got as proven breeder in 06 that are still alive and may still spawn now and then. However, if your goal is to breed them then age matters. They are most prolific at about age 3+ - 8 to 10 years old and then they can slow down.

Unless you know the seller, or somebody who can vouch for them, I cannot imagine selling a pair in their prime for less than $550 - $600. Females are hard to buy. The ideal ratio is 2m/1fm because the males needs 4 weeks+ to get from eggs to free swimming when the will be booted from the cave. However, A females can produce eggs at about 2 week intervals.

I work with groups as opposed to pairs. But that is because I would hate to have a pair and lose the FM, it would be difficult and expensive to replace one.