Low cost alternative sump pump & return hose

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

CWO4GUNNER

USN/USCG 1974-2004 Weps
I recently bought a NIB overflow box / skimmer / pump combo on Ebay for like $58, which means you have to buy your own hoses. After searching the reel-hose section at Lowes for 5/8" clear non-collapsible pump hose at $1.35 a foot, a neuron fired in my head that garden hose also comes in 1/2" and 5/8" ID at allot better price. I was able to buy the best quality contractor grade non-collapsible supple black garden hose at $0.38 a foot, the same garden hose I have been using to fill my tanks for 2 years without ill affects (not being official Aqua-hose it wont poison your fish). So for 1/3 the price of "5/8 Aqua pump hose" I own enough 5/8" pump hose to supply, augment, or repair any of my sumps, python or waterchange kit for a long long time. No need to post a photo, everyone knows what a giant reel of 5/8" quality black garden hose looks like

Now for the real deal, I was looking in the plumbing section for 3/4" screw hose clamps for $150 a pair becasue in the garden section they want $3.50 a pair, when I happen to look at the bottom shelf and find 24 foot packaged reels of universal sump pump accordion-flex hose for de-watering for only $10 a package with exactly the same inside-outside diameter as Aqua sump drain hose at only $0.41 a foot compared to $3.30 a foot for the stuff you buy on Ebay shipped. The single 24 foot section has 4 clamp points for dividing the hose into 4 six foot sections where you can still clamp your overflow/sump PVC pipe. The package even comes with clamps and adapter fittings if you want to use threaded pipe. If that's not enough its all black so now I have matching black pump and drain hose, what a deal for $10. Below the photo as most haven't seen this I'm sure.