Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Need help in starting up Fluval 204 unit

Discussion in 'Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY' started by sushiray, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. sushiray

    sushiray AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new windsor, ny
    Last Seen:
    Jul 28, 2010
    I inherited this unit, has media & water filled up. Plug it in & it sounds like a loud whining sound but no filter action. has a start knob but it's too easy to turn so not sure if this is broken. heard something about priming it up? what does that mean? or do I just have a broken unit? thx all
     
  2. jackiomy

    jackiomy Lover of Oddballs

    Real Name:
    Jacki Wilson
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Last Seen:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Real Name:
    Jacki Wilson
    They don't have a start button. That is the primer I think. I have one. I fill it with aquarium water first, hook it up, plug it in, and pull the plunger up and down til the suction starts. Make sure you have the hoses on the right side though. LOL I didn't and it just doesn't work. :)

    Here ya go.
    http://www.hagen.com/pdf/aquatic/Fluval04new.pdf
     
    #2 jackiomy, Jul 2, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2009
  3. sushiray

    sushiray AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new windsor, ny
    Last Seen:
    Jul 28, 2010
    when I did initially try it trial n error, nothing happened so I thought that was wrong. so I will try the plunger again. how many times do you think it takes to "pump" the plunger? 1st time I did it about 10x's. & what is the lever that is below the plunger that snaps down flat into the curved top?

    I thought maybe I put it on backwards but I deduced that the intake tube should go into the sponge side cavity & the out take tube should be over the media containers, right?

    will try it again shortly. thx again
     
  4. jackiomy

    jackiomy Lover of Oddballs

    Real Name:
    Jacki Wilson
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Last Seen:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Real Name:
    Jacki Wilson
    The lever that snaps down flat is the hookup for thetubes. Double check the you have the in in the in, and the out in the out.
     
  5. Just Prince

    Just Prince AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last Seen:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Make sure the out flow nozzle is underwater then plunge away till it starts on its own.
     
  6. sushiray

    sushiray AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new windsor, ny
    Last Seen:
    Jul 28, 2010
    so, I tried again pumping & pumping the middle lever, now my finger biceps are so buff! so are you saying if I submerge the out flow nozzle under water that will cause a vacuum, right? makes sense.

    I also looked at the link which gave very specific instructions but...

    failed to direct me to the start key/knob.

    but now let me ask about the "start" knob that happens to be connected to the rubber suction seal on the intake side. when I looked under the unit's bulk head - I pushed up the suction cup which pushes up the start knob. so it dawns on me that this is the part looks like the vacuum/suction action piece.

    I surmise that maybe this should be the pump primer? & I've been exercising my fingers for naught?! & maybe the lever I've been thinking was the primer is really the flow adjuster??!!

    will try again in an hr. I wish I may I wish I might....

    p.s. thks for all your feedback!
     
  7. keithnj

    keithnj AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new jersey
    Last Seen:
    Mar 4, 2015
    in your first post you said it makes a"loud whining noise" it could just be you need a new impeller. since it is a used filter it wont hurt for you to get a new one - my lfs sells them for about 9 dollars.
     
  8. sushiray

    sushiray AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new windsor, ny
    Last Seen:
    Jul 28, 2010
    impeller?

    since I didn't have any manual or reference (till jackiomy gave me hagen link) I made the mistake of plugging it in w/o water in the intake tube siphoning action. so it was pumping dry - which the manual warns against doing. My bad.

    so hope I don't need to replace since I saw it in action from the seller when I bought this great deal 72gal bowfront with it (but I think it is really only 60gal since I filled it up myself gallon by gallon, but that's another thread)

    so will let you know if success or not in a short while.
     
  9. shwank005

    shwank005 Mmmbeer

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Last Seen:
    Aug 11, 2011
    I couldn't start my 404 for a while, what worked for me was putting the output ABOVE the water line, then pumping the primer up and down vigourously until it started.
     
  10. sushiray

    sushiray AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new windsor, ny
    Last Seen:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Fluval 204 is primed pumped & flowing!

    I am a dunce! I was doing it all wrong. I realize now the start key/button is the primer/pumper! I also made sure the outtake tube was above tank water line level & as soon as I pumped it 4-5 times it started flowing! So easy a 5yr could have done it! :thm:
    thks all!

    p.s. & the other main lever does control water flow. but on full power I don't see the intake tube strainer taking in much debris - so even tho water can be flowing out strong & fast, the intake side doesn't seem strong enough to suck in poop that is so close to the strainer yet so far! hmmm?
     

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store