New to Rift Lake Cichlids, need help with stocking

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

flyingfox272

AC Members
Dec 31, 2011
I have kept and even bred fish for over 20 years but I am a noob when it comes to African RLCs. Well I am ready to take the plunge, I will be starting out with a 46gal bowfront which I have just installed a DIY 3D background on.

I know this tank is a bit small but I will eventually be moving them into my 90gal tank when I have it set up just how I want it.(background, filtration, etc)

So what I am looking for are Mbunas(Malawi tank) which show great colors, have a smaller adult size and are fairly easy to keep. I have been doing some research and I'm getting a little woozy since I can barely pronounce the names.

How about P. Saulosi, Yellow Labs, and L. Caeruleus for starters? These are a few I have seen as good starters in other threads.

Any input would be appreciated

Thanks!
Frank

toddnbecka

AC Members
Dec 17, 2004
Cumberland, MD 21502
First, never mix species that have the same colors/patterns. Female saulosi look too much like yellow Lab's. (Incidentally, L. caeruleus ARE yellow Lab's.)
A group of 12 demasoni and some yellow Lab's would work with sufficient filtration and water changes. They're both smaller species, though the demasoni are such holy terrors among their own species that less than 10 won't work long-term.

Pittbull

ALL BOW DOWN TO THE FIN GODS
Apr 14, 2007
Louisville Kentucky
Real Name
Mike
Or you can do some Cynotalipia Afra's there are a couple of variants you can choose from that are nice looking, i had the white top Afra and they can be stunning, with these you could add the Yellow Labs AKA Labidochromis Caeruleus and have a nice mix..

livebearerfreak

you are hypnotized! LOL
May 31, 2005
fairchild wi 54741
Real Name
douglas harvey