Not new to tanks, but new to doing it right the first time

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

The Fafa

Registered Member
Dec 27, 2016
And hoo boy, talk about information overload.

That being said. I am aware of the basics, inch per gallon, proper cycling, etc. What I am not clear on and where I need help is the best equipment for the job. I'm most interested in keeping maintenance low, obviously I can't make it self sustaining.

I have a 40G breeder that I received for free. I'm going to pick up basically everything, from lights to filter, to whatever else is needed. My current thoughts are a pair of HOB filters for redundancy. Should I stick with an appropriate sized filter or go bigger, get one for a 55 or 60 g tank? Or should I go with a canister? I've never used one before and have no frame of reference for requirements or if they're better or not.

Second, are live plants worth it? I think I'd like them, but I have two problems.
One, should I start with live plants having never maintained them or should (or can) I wait until after the tank has been going for a bit?
Two, are all aquatic plants essentially weeds or do some grow slow enough to be eaten and should I get plants that the fish will eat?

Not worried about lights as I will get a single flourescent without plants or twin with.

And this seems like a silly question, but how much gravel should I use? Enough for two inches alone or three with plants?

Appreciate any help in advance.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Decide on your stocking and go from there on all of your questions.

Two HOBs would suffice on a 40 breeder, though I would opt for a canister. Always go bigger on any filter. Rated capacity, gpm, is usually at best 1/2 of the advertised rate. Shoot for 6-10 times tank volume turnover per hour.