Get Your MonsterFishKeepers Cap

Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Seeding QT tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY' started by Kmbishop111, Nov 12, 2018.

  1. Kmbishop111

    Kmbishop111 AC Members

    Real Name:
    Kris
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Last Seen:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Real Name:
    Kris
    Hi all! I have an established 36 gallon bowfront w/ Aqueon 55/75 HOB, I have coarse sponge, 2 cartridges I have cut the carbon out of, some ceramic rings and Bio-Max in the back. Long story short, I bought a Fluval 406 hoping to switch but it's just too much for my little tank. Plan on keeping it for a 55 when I get set up. But can rob media off it in the mean time to mod my HOB.

    I've recently had some probs w/ addition of new fish as I did not QT them. I'm treating my 36 at moment, but setting up a QT for future purposes. It's a 10 gallon with a tiny filter, I have taken the floss? from the back of one of my filters, cut it up and put in a bio-media bag and stuffed it in this tiny filter along with about 5 ceramic rings and 5 bio-max from the 36. I also rang out my sponges in the QT tank. I'm probably making this harder than what it is, but trying to get it up asap to put my inverts in as well while medicating. I know theirs a lot I'm leaving out here, but my Angel is the main fish being treated along with dwarf Gourami and neither do well being netted so I'm keeping them as stress free as possible.

    I'm feeding the BB with a few drops of Ace Ammonia daily. Keeping the temp at 80.

    Should it take long to cycle or should I even worry about cycling the QT tank?
    Ammonia .5 Nitrites 0 Nitrates 0
    Thanks in advance!!
     
  2. Rbishop

    Rbishop ...and over the edge.
    Staff Member

    Real Name:
    Mr. Normal
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    40,067
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Last Seen:
    Yesterday at 9:54 AM
    Real Name:
    Mr. Normal
    Did the media come from the contaminated tank?
     
  3. Kmbishop111

    Kmbishop111 AC Members

    Real Name:
    Kris
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Last Seen:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Real Name:
    Kris
    Yes, and I realized that last night so starting over and dumping all contents of QT and cleaning well. Ugh.
     
  4. FreshyFresh

    FreshyFresh Global Moderator
    Staff Member

    Real Name:
    Joel
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    92
    Location:
    West Falls NY
    Last Seen:
    Yesterday at 5:38 PM
    Real Name:
    Joel
    There's an excuse to have another setup! That way you should always have at least one healthy tank to grab a filter from to setup a QT should you need one.

    Just make sure to have 2 filters at a minimum for each tank so you can grab one of you need it.
     
    fishorama and Kmbishop111 like this.
  5. Kmbishop111

    Kmbishop111 AC Members

    Real Name:
    Kris
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Last Seen:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Real Name:
    Kris
    You read my mind!! Man, this hobby gets out of hand quickly, huh? I'm either getting a 55 or 70 next month. I've already got a Fluval 406 for it, now just to work out the rest.
     
  6. fishorama

    fishorama AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,849
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    SF Bay area, CA
    Last Seen:
    Today at 3:33 AM
    You can also use a plastic tub for QT. Not as tempting to set it up as a permanent tank that way & easy to store.

    Yes, lol, this hobby leads to more...& more tanks! I'm currently down to just 3 tanks ATM from 9 or 10 (including a QT that did become just a plant & animal small tank).
     
    Kmbishop111 likes this.

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store