Self sustaining shrimp aquarium

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

WeaverISU

Registered Member
Sep 13, 2019
Hello, I'm new here and to aquariums. I'm working on a school project and I need to make a self sustaining ecosystem, I chose a freshwater ecosystem but I am having trouble finding appropriate plants that can feed shrimp or fish (which ever would be easier) like I said I'm new to this and the information I found online was misleading or confusing. Any help would be appreciated.

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
try googling 'Walstad method' and see if that is what you are looking for.

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
Then the best of luck, I'm not sure how much closer has been documented, let alone is possible.

WeaverISU

Registered Member
Sep 13, 2019
Then the best of luck, I'm not sure how much closer has been documented, let alone is possible.
It's definitely possible, people have done it. They just haven't documented it super well and some of it goes off assuming we have prior knowledge

WeaverISU

Registered Member
Sep 13, 2019
Define "self sustaining"... as in no water changes, no feeding?
Self sustaining as in self sustaining. I set it up and don't have to do anything. Maybe cleaning or something once a month but the less I have to do to it the better.

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
I had a 10g, very heavily planted, lots cherry shrimp that was "almost" self sustaining. I fed it maybe once a week or 2, a pea, a food pellet or 2, or tiny pinch of flake. I'm not sure they needed that much.

I changed water, well, maybe a bit more than once a month but not much. If the shrimp were happy (& mine were), they bred often & a lot. I gave away or sold many...Plants too.