Should I remove this snail of my tank?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Casra

AC Members
Mar 12, 2020
Hi everyone, I'm new to both the forum and the fish keeping thing. I have a 5 gallon tank with a bunch of small fish, a few days ago I added a few plants to the tank and today I realized i have brought an uninvited guest home, at first I wanted to take it out, but then I thought to myself if I could check it out if it's even bad for the fish or anything! So I'd appreciate if anyone could help me to know what type of snail is it or if it's harmful?

IMG_20200313_005859.jpg

IMG_20200313_005851.jpg

IMG_20200313_005815.jpg

dudley

Eheim User
Feb 9, 2005
Medina, Ohio
Real Name
Dee
It appears to be a Ramshorn snail and is not harmful to your fish or aquarium.

Could you also post a full tank shot (FTS) of your aquarium? The rocks look fairly large which will allow uneaten food and fish poop to accumulate quickly.

How long has your tank been set up? Are you familiar with testing the aquarium water to be sure it is safe for fish?

Casra

AC Members
Mar 12, 2020
Thanks , yes the rocks are damn big , it's my first tank and i had no idea what type of gravel should i use when I was setting up, it's running for about 3 months. I'll put the pic as soon as I can.

Casra

AC Members
Mar 12, 2020
It appears to be a Ramshorn snail and is not harmful to your fish or aquarium.

Could you also post a full tank shot (FTS) of your aquarium? The rocks look fairly large which will allow uneaten food and fish poop to accumulate quickly.

How long has your tank been set up? Are you familiar with testing the aquarium water to be sure it is safe for fish?
Should I be worried about it breeding to be a big number of snails?

the loach

AC Members
Aug 6, 2018
It's easy to remove them they aren't fast ;)