So discouraged (kind of long)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

laurabb

AC Members
Jan 7, 2007
On Friday I got a shipment of 5 ember tetras and what's apparently a trapdoor snail (was supposed to be a zebra nerite). I lost one ember on Saturday, one on Sunday, and 2 this morning. I have one left, and no confidence that he'll survive. He seems fine now, but then, they all seemed fine. The snail also seems fine - very active. All the tetras have been active, were coloring up nicely, and then half an hour later I'll check and there's either one dead or dying. I see no signs of disease, but I'm new to embers and they're tiny.

Tank has been set up for about a month (new tank). It's a 6.6 gallon tank, about 2 ft long, so there's a lot of surface area. Tank specifics are:

Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrates: 10
pH: 7
Temp: 79*
Small gravel for substrate
Lightly planted: anubia nana, some sort of crypt, java fern, java moss, wisteria
Driftwood
AquaClear 20 filter and Visitherm stealth heater. I use Prime as a water conditioner. Added 1 root tab (divided) for the plants on Saturday, and a little Flourish Excel.

Any ideas what's wrong? It's a new tank, but I rinsed it out well when I tested it for leaks before filling. I don't see any way that contaminants could have made their way into the tank.

I bought the fish from AZ Gardens, which is supposed to have very good stock. The only thing I can think of is that the box they were shipped in was not marked "Live Fish" or anything, and the FedEx guy was literally tossing the box from hand to hand when he came to the door to deliver it (he had no idea there were fish in there). But I would think that the fish would have all died sooner than this if the jostling from the shipment was to blame.

This is my first attempt with fish other than bettas, and I feel terrible. Any ideas on why this is happening?

rsanz

The Peacock Gudgeon Guy