Stocking a 75 gallon tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

brodysfish

AC Members
Aug 3, 2016
I am still a beginner and want to know what fish I should keep in my tank.
I already have ideas o what fish to keep:
Severums
Green Terrors
African butterflyfish
Archer fish
Rainbowfish
Black Ghost Knife
Firemouth Cichlids
Some sort of pleco
Tiger Barbs

Tifftastic

"With your powers combined . . ."
Sep 9, 2008
Glasgow, Scotland
Real Name
Tiff
I have made my comments on your list in bold:

Severums: a pair would be ok with some tiger barbs, and one of the smaller pleco species (bristlenose, clowns etc), but not with any others on your list.
Green Terrors: At max size of 10+ inches you could only keep one of these fish and you would be basically at full capacity of your tank
African butterflyfish: a small group would be compatible with a few schooling fish, some cories and a smaller pleco. Instead of cories you could probably do the ghost knife.
Archer fish: a brackish water fish, if you do this fish (which most people suggest should be kept in a tank with a larger footprint) then none of the other fish you have listed would be acceptable tank mates
Rainbowfish: depending on the species would be acceptable.
Black Ghost Knife: would be acceptable, but due to size and temperment differences I would not keep it with any of the cichlids you list
Firemouth Cichlids: relatively peaceful and would be compatible with both rainbowfish and larger tiger barbs
Some sort of pleco: look for the smaller species, bristlenose, clowns, rubber lips etc.
Tiger Barbs: sturdy enough to go with the severums, rainbowfish or firemouths, but might be too nippy to keep with the BGK

If you want the most variety and color I would go with:

The rainbows, the barbs, and a couple of firemouths as well as a bristlenose pleco and maybe some cories, depending on stocking numbers.