Suitable Fish for 5 Gallon

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Reido Dorito

AC Members
Jun 6, 2017
Hello. I'm considering purchasing a 5g tank and was wondering which fish, if any, I can keep in one of these. I'm a beginner, and would like to really start getting into fishkeeping. I plan on keeping live plants in it as well.

Thanks!

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
If this is a first tank, I'd recommend going bigger. 5 gallons is tough to keep stable.

Either way, describe what you would like from the tank. Active? Personality? Shy? Breeding? Predator?

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
I've never had a tank smaller 10g. I don't think I'd go smaller than that for a similar cost. As Sheila said, the smaller the tank, the less stable it can be. It doesn't allow much wiggle room for a missed water change or vacation if "fully" stocked.

That said, I'd have you think about fish (+/or shrimp) that max out at 1 inch at most in either size tank. There are many choices even then. I like dwarf corydoras, tiny rasboras or nano rainbowfish OR maybe shrimp. Cherry shrimp are pretty & easy to keep IME. So should be yellow, blue, green orange neocaridinas...but only 1 color or they'll breed to colorless/tan, you'll be sorry if you try mixing them. Beware the needier caridina shrimp, they're much more difficult if you don't have the "right" water for them. They include crystal reds & crystal blacks; give those a pass for now.

1 of my favorite tanks was a 10g with cherry shrimp & a ton of plants...but I was sorry I chose boraras maculata for the fish. They were the same size & color as the shrimp. I was not able to see them well enough to have them be interesting as they should have been.

Reido Dorito

AC Members
Jun 6, 2017
Gotcha. Thank you so much for the info!

Reido Dorito

AC Members
Jun 6, 2017
Ooooookeydokey. Thanks again.

Reido Dorito