To think is to dream?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Cearbhaill

Reads the Gribble Report
Mar 22, 2003
South Florida USA
Visit site
Let's say you have a ±18,000 gallon in ground pool that gets a small amount of use.
You know you already need to replace the pump and filter, so you'll be taking things apart anyway.
You'd much rather have a koi pond.

How would one go about exploring the actual costs associated with switching to fish?
How is filtration handled and where would I find such a filter? Pump requirements?

I am in South Florida where it never freezes. Late summer the pool may reach 90ºF, lowest I've ever seen the water temp is maybe 50ºF-ish.

I know that this is a major decision.
I think I am just fantasizing... aren't I?
Is it really feasible?
I really should contact a local Koi Club

Last edited:

demon_surfer

MooOOoOOOoO
Jan 28, 2003
Visit site
Thats a cool idea. im not an expert but i would say it was workable, the filters work in similar ways. First things that come to mind for me is to take a look at the filter you have in the pool now and look at the pond filters that you can find. If they are the same you might not even need to change over....wait you said the old one was broken?? One bad thing i can think of, you will need to make sure ALL the chlorine and other pool chemicals are outta the system totally. Probably through a long cycle or something.

Plus i know that the filter intakes on pools can be pretty big, you would probably want to look into covering them up with a wire mesh or egg crate or something or your fish are going to go the way of the curious cat =)

hope this helps

GEV83

Top Dog!!!
Jun 19, 2002
LA County, California
Real Name
Gabriel (Gabe)