What other types of tetras will school with neon tetras?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

infinity+1

AC Members
Jun 20, 2009
Ireland
I see alot of conflicting advice on this on the internet so im asking here.

I have 4 neon tetras atm and looking to add maybe 4 of another species or maybe 4 of one and 4 of another. Would any tetra of similar size and shape do?

Wycco

Eat more pine trees
Apr 19, 2009
34^N 81^W
Real Name
Kim Jong Il
I'm no expert but my tuppence:

If you ask your neons what they would prefer- they'd probably just give you a blank stare- but if they could they would tell you they prefer more of their own species.

If you only have 4 neons- they'll probably school with any other similar size shape and temperament fish. Such as glow light tetra, black neons, etc.

However- if you were to have a dozen of each- they would likely seperate into two different schools prefering to school with fish of their own species.

Honestly, I think your fish will probably be happier and do better with more of their own-kind, but if you have limited space and really want the variety- I'm sure a different species with similar shape/size and temperament would be better than no schooling-companions at all and they would form one happy group.

As a kid I had a similar set up with a small number of Neons and glowlights in a single school.

lateinningmagic

Call Me E-Man
Apr 14, 2009
New York
Neons don't really school once they feel safe in your tank. They tend to disperse to all parts of the tank and occasionally "tag" each other when they come close. There might be another tetra like cardinal which would school with them when they feel scared, but in a well suited tank they won't be schooling much.

clb2196

AC Members
Feb 21, 2009
Mass