Wild caught fish - keep or release?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Melissa360

AC Members
Sep 6, 2016
I need help!

I'm a Marine Biology teacher (my second year teaching the course) and back in August I caught two scup/porgies (about 6 inches long each) in Long Island Sound and decided to keep them in my 55 gallon saltwater tank in my classroom. It's now the end of the school year and I am debating about releasing them back into the Sound

Some have told me it's a good idea to release them back - they will eventually get bigger and won't fit the tank (one of them is already territorial and nipping at the other) and they will probably be happier, plus then I can just not worry about the tank over the summer and buy some regular store-bought fish when I come back.

Others have told me not to release them back, but I'm not really clear on the reason why they shouldn't be released back into the Sound? I know that there are concerns with store-bought fish being released into the wild because of parasites/diseases that they could bring into wild populations, but since these fish originally came from the wild wouldn't that not be a problem?

Would an expert on this be able to give me some insight?

SnakeIce

AC Members
May 4, 2002
North Ga, USA
Real Name
Frederick
The worry is that they might have picked up a disease in the captivity that would then be introduced to the wild that wasn't there before. Without knowing the details I would say that is valid enough concern not to return them to the wild.