Algae Eating Fish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Jamie

AC Members
Jul 27, 2003
TX
Visit site
I figured that this is a highly referenced subject and deserves a thread of its own. Though there is no better way to control algae through precisely maintaining and monitoring your water quality, algae eaters will help. I for one will be purchasing some algae eaters for my 150 shortly and have scoured the web looking for info regarding these creatures and deciding which one's I should aquire. First off, here is a list of potential algae eaters and the type of algae they eat according to what I have read. I am still a beginner at this whole planted tank thing and an extreme novice when it comes to battling algae...but I'm learning. Please anyone who has any experience with these fish or any others, please add to this thread. This knowledge is invaluable and will answer many newbie (like me) questions.

The Florida Flag Fish, Black Mollies, Gold Barbs and Rosie Barbs will all eat hair/thread algae. They have been referenced as "eating it up like spaghetti."

Siamese Algae Eaters, otherwise known as SAE's, also eat hair algae but have been noted as also eating forms of beard algae. Apparently, if you can get your hands on these guys, they are the best bang for the buck.

Ottocinclus Cats are also talked about frequently. It is my understanding that these little critters are good algae eaters though they mainly deal with algae in its beginning stages when it is very short.