75 with 14" jaguar cichlid

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

MoJo

AC Members
Sep 2, 1998
Dallas, PA
www.aquamojo.com
tonytheboss1 said:
:cool: Although it seems to fly in the face of all I've researched & understand, I'll defer to your success as an expert aquarist (I've seen & read your work)! :bowing: :bowing: That being said I don't know that I would advise the avg. novice fishkeeper that keeping a potentially 18/20" predator in a 75gl tank was OK. Some not so diligent or responsible novice might mistake that as a 'blanket endorsement' for keeping 'oversized' fish in 'undersized' housing. The only ones to suffer in that scenario is the fish. Maybe something like "I'm an expert folks, PLEASE don't try this at home" :) :) Again, thanx 4 weighing in & keep educating--we all can learn something!!!

Tony ~ First of all I am just a hobbist with a few morre years under his belt. This is NOT a blanket endorsement for ayone to keep an 18-20" predatory cichlid in a small tank. The key word here is defining "small". You could keep a three foot Lungfish in a 55 gallon...they just don't move around tat much...inthe tank or in the wild. A Dovii or an Umbee ABSOLUTELY need a biffer tank than most folk actually have in their home. THey are open water predators that are used to swimming long hard and fast.

I have been on a tear now for months about the number of folk who have recently purchased Umbe (sometimes four or five) and are housing them in 125 gallon tanks. STILL Not what is needed for an Umbee. Think 300+. Managuense are found in Lake Nicaragua...but generally confined themselves to slow turbid waters with rocky bottoms. The Parachromis we caught in Honduras two weeks ago came out of what...for lack of a better dexcription...looked like a swamp.