Cichlid's Moving Gravel?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Hurley

aka Bunny13
Oct 2, 2005
Baltimore, Maryland
www.freewebs.com
Now, before you laugh and say "well, duh" I know many cichlids like to move gravel around and rearrange things. I am fairly new to cichlids and have recently set up my first cichlid tank with 3 neolamprologus crassus. I chose these fish because the young are known to help the parents raise newer generations of fry. These 3 fish have been at my parents house for the last year and a half or so under the care of my sisters. When I first researched them I found they are supposed to be easy to breed but with no babies since I bought them I wrote it off as having 3 males. However, I am starting to think that may not be the case and the issue of no babies may have been due to my sisters lack of attentiveness to the tank. Since moving to my my place with regular feedings and water changes etc. I have noticed a couple interesting things and I want some feedback from you guys.

I know I definitely have 2 males based on the pointier fins, size and body language. My third fish is about half the size of the other 2 with less pointy fins. The 2 bigger fish don't like each other and while they aren't really aggressive with each other they will chase the other out of its territory. The little one kinda just goes where it wants and is tolerated by the other 2. They are fattening up quite a bit since they have been here and I noticed something interesting today. A couple of the plants in the tank have been uprooted and I witnessed the smallest one moving gravel around. I have never seen any of the 3 fish move gravel around before today. Could this be some kind of nesting behavior? Or is it just that they are comfortable in the tank now. Long post, I know, but let me know what you think.

Hooked Newbie

Today will be yesterday tomorrow
May 25, 2007
Georgia
Real Name
Len