Confusion on freshwater filtration system

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

greenfish1730

Registered Member
Dec 2, 2016
I am just brainstorming what type of filtration system I should be using for a 100 gallon freshwater tank and I'm so lost. I don't even know if this is a good system or even functional-this is all theoretical, just trying to get some more knowledge

image.jpg

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
OK, I'm not good at sideways, lol. What are your tank dimensions? Seems to me the heater could be after the canister & eliminate the pump? It seems like a hybrid of a sump (ish) set up...right? Do you have room for an actual sump tank? Not that I've done that....

Reactions: Rbishop

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS
Ok, you have 2 different types of water movement going on here, gravity and pump. Getting them to operate at exactly the same rate is nearly impossible.

Let's start at the beginning. Do you own this 100g tank already and is it pre-drilled? If so, just a hole in the bottom or does it have an overflow box? If you don't own the tank or it's not drilled why do you want a sump? AND a canister? Gives us some more details and we will help you find your way. :)

Reactions: Rbishop

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
Pretty sure my brain got caught in a loop there..
Are you wanting to build your own homemade filtration system?
How would I filter a 100g tank? Probably an AquaClear 110 or two, a large canister, or a few smaller canisters or any combination of the above! AC110s can be had for $60 or so. Same with some canisters. Sunsun 304 for instance.

Narwhal72

AC Members
Aug 13, 2009
Ok. Basically this is a sump system with a dummy (unpowered) canister filter and a UV sterilizer.