Easy Plants

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

railer20

AC Members
Oct 15, 2020
Kansas
Ok the time has come where I may want to try some easy plants in my 54 corner. I don’t have special lighting, just the LED that came with it, and have sand substrate. I have read Vallisneria is an easy one that doesn’t require root tabs or special lighting? I know eventually I will have to trim but is there a moss or something that my shrimp will like? I have a bridge decoration I could put that on maybe?

Apr 2, 2002
New York
I would tell you vals need substrate ferts.

Consider Annubias and java ferns. Both can be attached to wood or rocks or other decor. Look into some stem plants but get ones that can thrive in lower light.

My favorite site for plants related info is: https://tropica.com/en/ All the info there is excellent, I have been using Tropica liquid ferts since 2002. Ckicj on the link for plants there. Then. on the left side of the page under search where it says "Difficulty" chose easy and then click the black search box with the word Search in white text. Then have fun reading.

Reactions: railer20

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
I love cryptocorynes!! They are mostly easy to grow & come in many colors & leaf shapes. They can grow in sand but will need a root tab near them to be happy, as do vals. They may "melt" (an alarming change of environment reaction) but if the roots are healthy they will recover in a week or 2. Scary but no big deal.

Like 2tank said, anubias & ferns are easy, almost any of them. I'm not a fan of mosses but they can be easy...be careful...they can spread out of control!

Stem plants are more needy & if happy can grow FAST!! As in they need trimming at least once/week, maybe twice...it gets old.