New 75 Gallon Tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Hauscobra

AC Members
Dec 19, 2020
I am starting up a 75 gallon aquarium. I plan on having a school of sterbai cory’s probably 6. I also have a clown loach currentky I want to put in the 75 gallon. Can I add 2 more clown loaches to have a total of 3? Aside from school of 6 corys and 3 clown loaches I want to add a school of Harlequin rasbora’s and some type of tetra as well. Then decide on a center pieces fish maybe a angel fish of some type. What are ur thoughts or recommendations. I am new to the hobby and looking for advice. Thanks

Wyomingite

Fish Wrangler
Oct 16, 2008
Wonderful Windy Wyoming
Real Name
Ivan
Loaches aren't my area of "expertise", so to speak, but I know the basics and a 75 is going to be too small for one clown loach, let alone more. As Sprinkle said, they can regularly reach 12" or even more in an aquarium, and 10" is pretty much a given. They are also active fish and do better in groups. Unless you plan on acquiring a 6 foot tank sooner than later, I'd consider re-homing the loach.

With a 75 I'd seriously look at a larger school of cories, as "the more the merrier" philosophy definitely applies to cories, and you have a large footprint and plenty of volume. Six may get lost in the decor and plants and hardly be seen, and without the loaches you would have plenty of room on the tank floor for them to root around in.