Get Your MonsterFishKeepers Cap

Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Refilling a tank with a hose

Discussion in 'Freshwater' started by Chawk Fish, Mar 30, 2018.

  1. Chawk Fish

    Chawk Fish Registered Member

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Last Seen:
    Jun 19, 2018
    I have a new 29 gal. and am in the cycling process. Since there will be many 50% + water changes in my future, I was wondering if I could add Prime conditioner to the low tank water and use a garden hose to refill. I am on public water. I am concerned about killing the bacteria before the prime works. Thanks for your help!
     
  2. OrionGirl

    OrionGirl No freelancing!

    Real Name:
    Sheila
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,816
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Poconos
    Last Seen:
    Yesterday at 8:18 AM
    Real Name:
    Sheila
    I'd be more concerned about the hose...but yes, you can add the water conditioner before all the water is in, that's the way I do it.

    Most hoses are NOT safe for use in a fish tank. The rubber used is treated with algicides and fungicides. The ones labeled as 'food safe', sold for use in RVs are ok, but a standard garden hose is not a good choice.
     
  3. dafrimpster

    dafrimpster Registered Member

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Illinois
    Last Seen:
    Mar 30, 2018
    I use an RV potable water hose on all my tanks for many years.
     
  4. Chawk Fish

    Chawk Fish Registered Member

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Last Seen:
    Jun 19, 2018

    Thanks to you both for the info. I have the RV hose and will use it. The conditioner seems to be very efficient in doing it's job. Sure makes water changes a lot easier!
     

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store