Stalled cycle - no signs of nitrites

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Olga

AC Members
Jan 13, 2017
Hi all,

I want to start off by saying that I have successfully cycled 7 tanks with fish in it and this is my first time doing it fishless. I've decided to set up a 20 gallon tank for my shrimp with canister and sponge filter walls installed. I had also put driftwood, some moss, duckweed, shrimp substrate, and a few plants in it. I also have about 20 assassin snails and 20 amano shrimp there (I guess it's not entirely fishless), all of which are alive and grabbing food when I feed.

It's my 4th week now, where I have following readings:

Ammonia 2-3 ppm
Nitrites 0 ppm
Nitrates 0 ppm
pH 6.0 ppm
Temp 76 degrees

All of my test I do with API master kit. I had initially added Dr Tim ammonia in order to raise it and added various (huge amount) of bacteria to it - Dr Tim, tetra easy start plus, Seachem Seed bacteria, Dr Foster and Smith branded bacteria... Basically everything I had (several bottles of each) and no results..

I'm stuck. Help?

IMG_20170112_221815897.jpg

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
Have you verified that ammonia level? Shrimp in general are pretty sensitive to it, so the fact that your amanos are alive makes that number very suspect to me. Adding Dr Tim's and plants means you won't see a traditional cycle.

Reactions: Olga

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel