Tough, aggressive bottom feeder/scavenger?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

jagarundi

Bonafide, 100% Cichlid Lover!!
Oct 6, 2004
Hello all, I'm looking for a hardy, bottom dwelling fish that can hold it's own in an aggressive tank of big cichlids. I'd like something that doesn't hide all day and gets out and mingles with the rest of the tank. Anyone have the perfect choice for me? It doesn't have to be a catfish necessarily, but something that scavenges the dropped food of the messy Cichlids.

psycosis_03

AC Members
Apr 13, 2006
Hannibal, MO
Ive heard that upside down catfish work well. Also Ive seen alot of Pleco's with cichlids. but im no expert myself. I am just get started in cichlids

Nikki J

AC Members
Apr 5, 2006
boston, ma
www.myspace.com
I have a common Pleco in my cichlid tank, and I hardly ever see him. He always hides, and if/when he does come out, the cichlids pick on him. I would suggest a synodontis catfish, because from what I've heard, they can hold their own, and won't hide from the cichlids. I am actually picking one up later this week, and giving my Pleco away to someone who has goldfish.
The synodontis catfish is probably your best bet.

jagarundi

Bonafide, 100% Cichlid Lover!!
Oct 6, 2004
Nikki J said:
I have a common Pleco in my cichlid tank, and I hardly ever see him. He always hides, and if/when he does come out, the cichlids pick on him. I would suggest a synodontis catfish, because from what I've heard, they can hold their own, and won't hide from the cichlids. I am actually picking one up later this week, and giving my Pleco away to someone who has goldfish.
The synodontis catfish is probably your best bet.