Making water changes a bit more friendly!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

injunear

AC Members
Mar 10, 2008
Well, admittedly I'm a noob so on the advice of everyone in this forum I purchased a Python to do water changes/vacuuming......

I quickly realized that this method was, and is, quite inefficient as when you're emptying a tank of say 30+ gallons, and one where the level of the tank might be below the faucet, it takes forever using the Python "pump", not to mention all the fresh water going down the drain as waste water.

Not good if you have a well pump as this can take up to an hour depending on the size of the tank and how much water you're removing.

So to make a long story short, I said to myself there's got to be a better way.
I bought a fresh water utility pump from Harbor Freight for $30 on sale and had a coupon for 15% off on top of that!
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=9576

I used the Python "pump" as a diverter when vacuuming and pumping to direct water into the sink.
The pump is 12V so I used my automotive Jump Start for a power supply.

I fill the tank in the normal way via the faucet.....BTW, I allow the Python "pump" to leak out the bottom a bit when filling so I can feel the water temperature.

p4250019.JPG P4250021.JPG p4250020.JPG p4250023.JPG P4250025.JPG P4250026.JPG

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
I have been using the python for over 30 yrs. Never use the faucet venturi. I just drain to the outside or nearest bath tub. Much less complicated.

Sploke

resident boozehound
Staff member
Oct 20, 2005
South Windsor, CT
Real Name
Matt
Yeah I drain down a basement footing drain so I just use the syphon, never had to use the venturi thing to get a good draw, but that works if you don't have that option.

injunear

AC Members
Mar 10, 2008