Petsmart Guy Was Wrong. What now?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Prohibit

AC Members
Sep 29, 2010
Oklahoma City, OK
Real Name
Ray
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie here and to the fish tank world. I have had a 40 gallon tank for about 7-8 months now with two oscars and one large suckerfish. All three fish were huge, but I was given all the fish with the tank. I understand that the space was not nearly large enough for these fish, so that won't happen when I get my own fish. All fish have died (one oscar killed the other, sucker just randomly died, and the last was floating today). So... I just pulled the tank off it's stand and I am working on removing all of the pebbles and cleaning the tank up.

Here's where it gets interesting.

Last night I bought a Fluval Chi fish tank, because it looks really cool of course. The PetSmart guy told me that I could fit 7 glofish and 3 ghost shrimp in it. This is a 5 gallon tank by the way. I've been googling and people are saying that two glofish alone is probably too many for this size tank. What should I do? Move the other five to the 40 gallon? I really like the glofish and think they are probably what I want to use in the 40 gallon, but what can I put with them and how many should I stock?

I'm a complete newbie to this, and I know you hear this regularly. I don't know much about keeping it clean, or checking pH levels or any of that.

I am using sand with the 5 gallon, will I have problems with sand in the 40gallon?

Thank you so much,

I'm 20 years old and just now starting to get into this.

Ray

user_name

Senior_Member
May 23, 2010
Mass
Real Name
Cam
hey, sorry about your oscars. As for a 5 gallon, glo-fish aren't suitable for anything less than a 10 gallon due to their hyperactivity, and they will live the longest in a 20 gallon or up tank. You could definitely move them to the 40 gallon.