Why are my bettas dying??

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

PhaiFan

AC Members
Oct 10, 2017
Hello everyone

I have lost several betta fish for reasons I can't identify. I am not a newbie. I've had various types of fish and aquariums for most of my life.

Some of my bettas have lived well over a year, but I seem to be losing some after only a few months. All of them are kept in 1.5 gallon tanks with a heater and filter. Water temp is 78 consistently. I change 1/3 to 1/2 of the water weekly, and clean the entire thing every couple of weeks. Twice a week I use test strips to check PH, nitrites, nitrates, hardness, etc. If any adjustments are needed, I take care of them right away.

I feed my fish small amounts twice a day. Their diet is varied...frozen brine shrimp, freeze dried blood worms, and high quality pelleted food.

On the ones I have lost, it happens suddenly. I just lost one today. He was fine when I left for work this morning, but when I came home, he looked like this (see attached pictures). He died a few hours later. This has been the same thing that happened to the others I've lost. I can't imagine what I'm doing wrong. Since they are all kept in the same conditions, it doesn't make sense that the others are doing fine. (I have 7 of them)sick fish2.jpg sick fish1.jpg sick fish.jpg

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Common filtration for the tanks? I'd suggest a liquid test kit and give us exact readings. What kind of adjustments are you doing and what are you using?

PhaiFan

AC Members
Oct 10, 2017
Common filtration for the tanks? I'd suggest a liquid test kit and give us exact readings. What kind of adjustments are you doing and what are you using?